Paul Miller, Gregg Bates, kickstarterwarrior
  • aknicholas
    -- Senior Member --
    -- Senior Member --

Paul Miller, Gregg Bates, kickstarterwarrior

by aknicholas » Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:29 pm

I just got an email from someone calling himself Paul Miller via Kickstarter. It promised all sorts of marketing help.

The same profile picture appears over the name "Gregg Bates" here: http://www.kickstarterwarrior.com/?page_id=23

The same content appears on gogowarrior.com and gogobacker.com

He claims a Harvard MBA (I have an MBA from a less prestigious school, and I'll say the quality of the content falls short of what one would expect given the credentials claimed.)

I'd like to see Kickstarter do something to help reduce spam. But I'm not sure what should be done. Any ideas?

Backertree
    -- Veteran Member --
    -- Veteran Member --

Re: Paul Miller, Gregg Bates, kickstarterwarrior

by Backertree » Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:23 am

Hey Mate! Thank you for sharing. It's always interesting to hear about the 'crowdfunding marketing companies' that are popping up.

I believe Kickstarter doesn't allow more than 10 messages sent in a row otherwise the account gets flagged then reviewed by their team (with further action completed accordingly). Unfortunately all that happens now is that these businesses pay people to constantly create new accounts and continue to send thousands of messages a week.

Now I have no problem with people doing this, assuming the services that they person was offering were top notch and legitimately helpful. Most businesses that offer marketing services specifically in the crowdfunding industry do not offer useful services, instead services that include fake shares/likes/followers, copy and paste press releases, promotion to millions of fake Twitter followers, etc.