How I'm campaigning for my WordPress plugin on Kickstarter
  • leonstafford
    -- New Member --
    -- New Member --

How I'm campaigning for my WordPress plugin on Kickstarter

by leonstafford » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:36 pm

I'm about to go live with my first Kickstarter campaign and will share some behind the scenes, Director's Cut moments of how I got here and update as it goes live, starts funding and hits the fundraising goal (let's be confident!).

The WP plugin that speeds up and secures your site - v3.0

^ there's even a story about the title. Gleamed from elsewhere on this site, I believe, the title includes the benefit to the user, vs my original title, just using the plugin's name, "WordPress Static HTML Output Plugin". Not quite as appealing, is it?

How did you end up on Kickstarter?

There's a bit more of the plugin's backstory on Reddit, but it's something I've been doing for over 7 years now. Launching a KS campaign for it is part of a greater effort to turn a personal passion into an income generator.

I've spent most of my life building things for other people or giving time to charitable causes. The former generates income, but can leave me feeling empty. The latter fulfills me, but without additional means, can make it hard to eat.

By focusing on my open source project development, I feel I can help people, and generate an income to live off.

What else are you doing besides Kickstarter?

I'm looking at the product as a whole and supporting ecosystems. Have started writing a book on the topic of using WordPress to create static websites, which will cover not only my plugin, but the myriad of other tools and options for achieving the same solution.

Personally, I still have ambitious goals for a charity with my partner, Beautiful Moalboal, but this is a whole other kettle of fish (sorry for non-native English speakers, that means "something completely different"!).

What are you unsure of regarding the KS campaign?